Monroe County Land Authority

The Monroe County Comprehensive Plan Land Authority, known as the Monroe County Land Authority (Authority), has a core mission to acquire property for conservation use. The Authority also provides funding for affordable housing projects, prevents or satisfies private property acquisition, and maintains the conservation land stewardship program in Monroe County within the Florida Keys and Key West Areas of Critical State Concern. 

The Authority was established to assist in the implementation of land use plans and to serve as an intermediary between landowners and government agencies that regulate land use. The Authority is a component of Monroe County government created in 1986 and governed by the Board of County Commissioners (BOCC). 

Governing Board

Name Seat
Commissioner David Rice Chair
Commissioner Michelle Lincoln Vice Chair
Commissioner Craig Cates Commissioner
Mayor Pro Tem Jim Scholl Commissioner
Mayor Holly Merrill Raschein Commissioner

Governing board meetings are held during the monthly regularly scheduled BOCC meetings. The governing board’s agendas are included in the BOCC agendas. The Monroe County Land Authority Governing Board usually meets on the third Wednesday of every month at 9:30 a.m. at one of the following three rotating locations:

Meeting Locations

Location Address
Murray Nelson
Government Center
102050 Overseas Hwy
Key Largo, FL 33037
Government Center
2798 Overseas Hwy
Marathon, FL 33050
Government Center
1200 Truman Avenue
Key West, FL 33040

Financial Information

The Land Authority's fiscal year is from Oct. 1 to Sept. 31.


The taxes and fees received by the Authority consist of a surcharge on admissions and overnight occupancy at state parks in the unincorporated county in the amounts authorized by Florida Statutes section 380.0685

A half-cent of the tourist impact tax charged on lodging in the Keys is authorized by Florida Statutes section 125.0108.

Land Authority Advisory Committee

A five-member advisory committee, appointed by the governing board, provides recommendations regarding land conservation acquisitions.

Areas of Critical State Concern

Code of Ethics