Historic Preservation Commission

Ordinance No. 22-1999 authorizes the Monroe County Commission to appoint a five-member Historic Preservation Commission. Four members shall be professionals in any of the disciplines of architecture, history, architectural history, planning, archaeology, or other historic preservation-related disciples such as urban planning, American studies, cultural geography, or cultural anthropology. The 5th member shall be a lay individual with a demonstrated interest in any of the aforementioned disciplines. Members serve 3-year terms.

The purpose of this commission is to designate and regulate historical properties within the unincorporated area of the county "...that the protection and enhancement of properties of historical, cultural, archaeological, and architectural merit are in the interests of the health, prosperity, and welfare of the people of Monroe County.”


ADA Assistance

If you are a person with a disability who needs special accommodations in order to participate in meeting proceedings, please contact the County Administrator’s Office, by phoning 305-292-4441, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m., no later than five (5) calendar days prior to the scheduled meeting; if you are hearing or voice impaired, call "711."


Brian SheaProfessionalExpires: April 17, 2022
Bert BenderProfessionalExpires: April 17, 2022
Barbara BaumanProfessionalExpires: July 21, 2024
Alice AllenProfessionalExpires: April 17, 2022
Kate DeLoachLay PersonExpires: April 17, 2022