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Florida Constitution Article I., Section 24 



Monroe County has a legal obligation to 

comply with the Sunshine Law 

The Law 

 SUNSHINE LAW: Protects the public from 

“closed-door” decision-making by providing a 

right of access to the proceedings of public 

agencies. Such decision-making may be 

undertaken by: 

 Elected boards; 

 Appointed boards; 

 Decision-making ad hoc or advisory boards; 

 Private entities created pursuant to law or by public 

agencies; and 

 Private entities providing services to public agencies. 



Sunshine Law 

“Open Meeting?” 

1. The Sunshine Law prohibits: 

 
 

A. Communication by two or more members of the same Board, 

Committee, alter ego, or private entity doing business on 

behalf of a government agency (“Sunshine body”). 

 

B. About a matter upon which that Sunshine body may 

foreseeably take action. 

 

C. Except at a duly noticed public meeting. 

 

D. Applies to all communication types, including in-person 

exchanges during social events, workshops, telephone calls, 

e-mails, letters, and notes. 



Sunshine Law 

          No “game of telephone” to pass along otherwise prohibited communication: 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 No using non-board member as a liaison to circulate prohibited communications  

    (information or thoughts) to another board member. 
 

 
 

 No asking non-board member to determine another board-member’s view on a board   

     issue is. 
 

 

 No “polling” non-board member to determine what another board member’s opinion or   

    voting intention is regarding a matter which may foreseeably come before the board for   

    action. 



Sunshine Law 

Public Comment 
 

 

 

 New law, Florida Statute § 286.0114, requires boards to 

provide a reasonable opportunity to be heard on a 

proposition before the board. 
 



Sunshine Law 

Public Comment 

 

 Florida Statute § 286.0114(2): 
 

 

 Members of the public shall be given a reasonable 

opportunity to be heard on a proposition before a board 

or commission. The opportunity to be heard need not 

occur at the same meeting at which the board or 

commission takes official action on the proposition if the 

opportunity occurs at a meeting that is during the 

decision making process and is within reasonable 

proximity in time before the meeting at which the board or 

commission takes the official action. 
 

 



Sunshine Law 
Consequences of Violation 

 Knowing violation by a board member, state agency, or authority 

of any county or municipal corporation is guilty of a second-

degree misdemeanor (includes activity outside of Florida) 

punishable with a fine up to $500 and/or up to 60 days’ 

imprisonment. 
 

 Public officer may be removed from position. 
 

 Violation by public officer is guilty of non-criminal infraction. 
 

 No action taken in violation is considered binding. See Fla. Stat. 

§ 286.011. 
 

 Violators are personally responsible for attorney’s fees. 
 


