Click to Home
Go To Search
Affordable Housing Advisory Committee
Committee Admin
Marathon Gov. Center
2798 Overseas Highway
Marathon, FL  33050

Ph: (305)289-2500
Fx: (305)289-2854
Meetings: 07/22/2016
Time:  9:00am
Marathon Gov. Center
2nd Floor, EOC
2798 Overseas Highway
Commission Chambers
Marathon, FL  33050 

The Affordable Housing Advisory Committee was established on May 21, 2008 by Ordinance 014-2008 replacing the previous Workforce Housing Task Force. The mission of the committee is to address the issue of affordable housing opportunities for residents and workforce and to fulfill the requirements in Section 420.9076 of the Florida Statutes regarding the Local Housing Assistance Plan.

On February 18, 2009 Resolution 062-2009 was adopted retiring current membership, changing method of appointment, spreading required categories of membership through the Commission districts and setting a minimum frequency of meetings to once per year unless called more frequently by the BOCC.
The Board of County Commissioners adopted Resolution 139-2015 (May 20, 2015) establishing the duties of the Affordable Housing Advisory Committee.   At the June 10, 2015 BOCC meeting Ordinance 014-2015 amending Section 2-700 was adopted to establish the 14 member committee.

Three additional members were appointed to the Committee at the June 2015 BOCC meeting.
On July 15, 2015 the BOCC approved a contract with FCRC Consensus Center, Florida State University, to participate and facilitate the Monroe County Affordable Housing Advisory Committee.  Resolution 189-2015 (filing pending) was passed to add one additional duty to the committee’s tasks, namely, to evaluate and propose additional mechanisms to qualify and monitor the occupants of deed restricted affordable housing.

Affordable Housing Report:

Monroe County Workforce Housing Assessment Report - April 2015
Monroe County AHAC Pre Meeting Survey Results - August 2015

Current Agenda:
Current Agenda
Minutes/Agendas & Handouts:            
Listed By Meeting Date

ADA Assistance:  If you are a person with a disability who needs special accommodations in order to participate in these proceedings, please contact the County Administrator's Office, by phoning (305) 292-4441, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., no later than five (5) calendar days prior to the scheduled meeting; if you are hearing or voice impaired, call "711". 
Accommodation Request Form

Sylvia Murphy      Monroe County BOCC Expires:  11/2018
Heather Carruthers  Monroe County BOCC Expires:  11/2020
Tim Root  District 1 Expires:  11/2020
Kurt Lewin  District 1 Expires:  11/2020
James D. Cameron            District 2 Expires:  11/2018
Randy Wall  District 2 Expires:  11/2018                              
Warren Leamard   District 3 Expires:  11/2020
Ken Naylor  District 3 Expires:  11/2020
Hana Eskra  District 4 Expires:  11/2018
Edwin Swift III  District 4 Expires:  11/2018
William Wiatt   District 4 Expires:  11/2018
Jim Saunders  District 5 Expires:  11/2016
Stephanie Scuderi  District 5 Expires:  11/2016                   
Joanna Weinhofer  County Administrator Expires:  06/2019
Ed Davidson   County Administrator Expires:  06/2019
Bill Hunter  BOCC Expires:  06/2019

Monroe County
1100 Simonton Street
Key West FL, 33040