Click to Home
Go To Search
Older American Advisory Board
Contact                       Pam Martin, President
217 Coral Road
Islamorada, FL 33036
Ph: (305) 853-0907

Meetings: Monthly, 1st Thursday (Excluding July, Aug, Sept)
Time: 10:00 AM Unless Otherwise Stated
Marathon Library
3251 Overseas Highway
Marathon, FL 33050 

Meeting Schedule 

The Older American Advisory Board was established in 1979.  It was originally created to aid in obtaining grants from the State; the board requested they remain active as an advisory board to the Monroe County Board of County Commissioners to aid the elderly citizens of Monroe County.  The responsibilities of the board are to investigate, review and recommend to the BOCC such services or programs which would benefit the older American citizens of Monroe County as well as provide such assistance to the Commissioners as requested by the Board.  Monthly meetings provide a means of communication between the Commissioners, Administrator, Division Directors and others in positions throughout the county.

The OAAB is comprised of twenty members (four from each of the Upper, Middle, Lower Keys and Key West Chapters of the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP)), the four Presidents of the AARP chapters or designate and one ex-officio member (a County Commissioner appointed by the BOCC).  All shall be residents of Monroe County and at least 55 years of age or older except the Commissioner ex-officio.  Membership is appointed each January by the BOCC. 

Most Recent | View All
Most Recent | View All
ADA Assistance: If you are a person with a disability who needs special accommodations in order to participate in these proceedings, please contact the County Administrator's Office, by phoning (305) 292-4441, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., no later than five (5) calendar days prior to the scheduled meeting; if you are hearing or voice impaired, call "711".
Accommodation Request Form 

Advisory Board Officers  
Pam Martin, Chair
Dixie Humelsine, Vice-Chair
Keith Jackson, Secretary 
Lower Keys Chapter #1351
Darlene Bennett, President
Terri Gedmin
Paul Gedmin           
Noelle Plagens
Johnnie Kimbler
Middle Keys Chapter #2324
Pam Martin, Chapter President
Michael Cunningham
Bill Baker
Julia Vidulich
Hunter Rogers
Big Pine Chapter #2466
Jim Olsen, Chapter President
Pat Olsen
Bob Davis
Shirley Wagner
Jim Wagner
Upper Keys Chapter #2519
Pam Martin, Chapter President Monczi Beattie
Keith Jackson
Dixie Humelsine           
Wayne Smith
Kathleen Ryzoc

Monroe County
1100 Simonton Street
Key West FL, 33040